top of page

Peace.

A life of kindness

peace

togetherness


My grandmother was a woman of divine character

She believed in family

And the power of being together


She believed in cooking

And the meals that brought us to the table

She liked to look at life as a journey

to be experienced


Unfortunately, life has its turns and bumps

And her mind

Full of birthdays

Recipes

and

Reunions


was clouded.


And from then on she was never the same.


And it pains me to think that as the oldest grandchild

I am the only one that has any clear memory of who she was


The rest saw this shell

The remains of what she once was


And I hope to God that this is not her legacy.


I hope the stories we tell of her kindness and good-nature

will prevail


I hope the younger ones see that she is not

the condition that took her last years on this Earth


I want them to know that people are much more than

the illnesses and ailments that consume them


Rather,

look for the light that she brought to this Earth

while she could.


And lastly,

I hope they remember her


kindness

peace and

togetherness.

 


I love you, Grandma Carol. I hope you are finally at peace.


xoxo





bottom of page