top of page

New Year, New Me?

Updated: Feb 21, 2019

Another year has come and gone. And everyone is obsessed with making this year better.

Cause we should always blame the whole damn year for a few hiccups.... But I digress.


As a person who works out, I am all too familiar with the "New Years' Resolution-ers." Or the people who come consistently in January and then don't return the rest of the year.


Most are annoyed with these people, but I say good on them for trying to make a positive life choice. I mean, all we can do is try, and even if we don't succeed, we made an attempt at a better way of living.


After reading over the endless social media posts of distant friends, I began to think of my own resolutions. What was missing from this year that could make 2019 the best yet?


So, I made a list. But, I made sure it was realistic. I don't expect myself to have a 100% happy year with hundreds of career moves and many life milestones. All I can ask for is better.





My Resolutions for 2019:


1) Drink more water

- Okay, like I know everyone says the answer to everything is drinking more water. And it isn't the only thing that can improve your life. But it does help your skin and your body, and I feel like if I'm going to start somewhere, an easy task like drinking enough water is a decent place to start.


2) Diversify my workouts

- Admittedly, I'm a creature of extreme habit. So when I go to the gym, I have my calculated routine to feel like I accomplished something. But I'd really like to try classes or weight training, where calories aren't what is measured. I need to realize that just being active should constitute a solid workout, not a number.


3) Write more

- I would love to write more. Not just for writing samples or for this blog, but for myself. I find writing to be something that allows me to process my own thoughts and put them into concrete, quantifiable terms. And there's something very valuable in being able to strengthen the relationship from what's going on in your head onto a piece of paper.


4) Feel less guilty

- One the things I struggle with the most is guilt. Not that I'm an awful person who runs around robbing babies of their lollipops, but guilt in feeling ungrateful. If I'm feeling sad I'll make myself feel guilty by saying I'm an ungrateful brat. Even though, the feelings I'm feeling are valid. I should allow myself to process what I'm feeling and not necessarily make it a whole character evaluation (because of course I'm grateful for my life).


5) Let go

- I like to coordinate my life to the extreme, and I place importance on things that don't matter in the long run. I want to be more present. Realize that I can put things off until tomorrow if I'm tired, and not force myself to stay up. Sometimes I need to let go of unnecessary burdens and allow myself to actually enjoy life.




-----


Thank you for reading, and have a wonderful 2019!!!


 

(Thumbnail illustration by Maggie Cole)

bottom of page